Leukemia Cancer Stages

Most cancer patients are assigned a clinical “stage” after undergoing a diagnostic work-up. American physicians often use the four Leukemia Cancer Stages TNM system a classification system developed and recently revised by the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) and the Union Internationale Contre le Cancer (UICC) International Union Against Cancer).

According to this system, Leukemia Cancer Stages based on the size of the tumor and how far it has spread from its original location in the body.Because leukemia starts in the bone marrow and often has spread to other organs by the time it is detected there is no need for traditional staging. Instead, physicians rely upon cytologic (cellular) classification systems to identify the type and subtype of leukemia.

Prev1 of 4
Continue Reading on Next Page


Leave A Reply

error: Content is protected !!